Spicy Sweet Potato Soup with Chipotle + Coriander

Ok, this has to be the best soup I have ever had in my LIFE. No exaggeration here folks! This is a Spicy Sweet Potato Soup with Chipotle + Coriander. I grabbed this amazing recipe from Gwyneth Paltrow’s new recipe book called, It’s All Good. She has a ton of easy, delicious and healthy recipes. It’s a great buy!

IMG_20130426_120059
My friend and I have both come down with the common cold, so we thought some good ol’ soup would be a perfect and appropriate dinner. This soup is rich and creamy with a good southwestern kick to it. I can’t not share this recipe with you all!!

IMG_20130426_115032

Ingredients

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 large red onion, finely diced (about 1 1/2 cups)

2 garlic cloves – minced

5 springs of cilantro, leaves reserved for garnish

3/4 teaspoon cumin

Course sea salt

1 1/2 teaspoons chipotle in adobo (or more if you like)

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced (about 6 cups)

6 cups Vegetable Stock

Heat the olive oil in a large, heavy pot over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic, cilantro sprigs, cumin, and a heavy pinch of salt and cook, stirring now and then, until softened but not browned, 10 minutes. Add the chipotle and the sweet potatoes and stir to combine. Add the vegetable stock to the pot and turn up the heat. Once the soup comes to a boil, lower the heat and simmer until the sweet potatoes are very soft, about 30 minutes. Remove and discard the cilantro. Carefully puree the soup in a powerful blender. If you want a really refined, smooth texture, you can pass the pureed soup through a fine-mesh strainer. Garnish each bowl with a few of the reserved cilantro leaves.

Personally, I don’t like cilantro so I didn’t add the leaves to my soup. I think a great alternative for the cilantro would be basil leaves. Happy Friday Everyone!!

It’s All Good, Gwyneth Paltrow and Julia Turshen

10 thoughts on “Spicy Sweet Potato Soup with Chipotle + Coriander

    • You’re absolutely right! I just looked over the recipe book that I took it from “It’s All Good” by Gwyneth Paltrow and It’s not in the ingredients, but stated in the intro that you can substitute the cumin for the coriander. Thank you for pointing that out to me!

  1. In England fresh coriander leaves and sprigs is what you in the US call cilantro! I wouldn’t add dried coriander or seeds aswell, just use the fresh stuff. I’m off to make this now! Thanks for sharing.

      • Yes! When I moved to the US I thought you just didn’t have coriander here, or rocket, which I later found out by trial and error you call Arugula! Then there’s the whole eggplant and aubergine thing! Loved the recipe, delicious!

      • Haha too funny. For the longest time I was looking for “capsicum” which is what Australians call our sweet peppers in the U.S! Totally threw me off! I’m sure I’ll be spending most of my life figuring out different terms for different places ;). Ah, so glad you liked the soup! I’m going to have to make it again soon, as I find it very appropriate for this weather 🙂

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan: July 9 – 17, 2015 | Cooking For My Lovely

  3. Pingback: Meal Plan: July 18 – 26, 2015 | Cooking For My Lovely

Leave a Reply

