Who said Clean Eating had to be boring?

It has been 6 ½ weeks since I started my new way of eating, my lifestyle change. I seriously, cannot even imagine going back to the way I used to eat! Not that I ate terribly, but it’s amazing the changes the body goes through when you put the right foods in it.

I’m starting to become more and more conscientious of when and what I put in my body.  If I know I’ll be doing heavy lifting in the morning, I make sure to consume a substantial amount of protein and carbs.

This is an example of what my breakfast would look like; ½ cup of rolled oats, ¾ cup almond milk, half of a mushed banana mixed in the oats, with the other half sliced on top. I’ll also eat 1 or 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites ‘over easy’.

Lunch would usually be 3-4 ounces of chicken, ½ cup of quinoa, or brown rice pasta, or brown rice, with a vegetable.

Dinner I usually eat around 5 or 6pm, and that will be the last meal I have for the day. I always include some sort of protein, vegetable and/or fruit. If I have a carb, I definitely try to limit it to a small amount.

I don’t make desserts often but I try to make something new once a week. This week it was chocolate-sweet potato energy bites. It was a little bitter tasting but I enjoyed it very much. Let me confess that my taste buds have changed dramatically. It is so rare that I eat anything with salt or sugar so when I eat anything that contains those ingredients, it shocks my taste buds. I mentioned in a previous post that I had a couple kiwi slices, with no added sugar, and I couldn’t even finish it because of the sweetness.

Back to the chocolate-sweet potato bites. I made my parents try them and I’m sad to say that they couldn’t finish  even one! I asked what they didn’t like about them and they admitted it was the ‘mushy’ texture and the blandness. When they try anything I make, the common factor has been the blandness. What I find to be so naturally flavorful, they find bland. I think most people would, if they typically add salt and/or sugar to 99% of everything they eat. But it’s something you can get used to! Again, it was not an easy transition to eliminate additives but I eventually got used to it and now my body loves it.

I would encourage anyone to turn away from table salt and start using sea salt as an alternative. You can read the benefits of sea salt here-http://simplehomemade.net/the-healthful-benefits-of-sea-salt/.

You can find the recipe of the chocolate-sweet potato energy bites by clicking the link below.  http://www.thewellnesswarrior.com.au/2012/04/foodie-friday-maria-laitinen/. *The only change I made with this recipe was rolling the balls with different toppings. I rolled 4 balls in unsweetened coconut, 4 balls in sesame seeds, and 4 balls in chia seeds.*

IMG_20130217_140926

I came across this fantastic blog called Wellness Warrior by Jessica Aisncough who is a writer and holistic health coach. She has begun to inspire a lot the recipes I make today and I will give her credit to any of the recipes I make from her. Check her out!

For some reason, I was NOT in the mood to cook lunch for myself today. I rarely eat out anymore, unless it’s a special occasion where I go out for a meal with my friends or family. Other than that, I put effort in to making healthy meals for myself, every single day. I love to cook, but I think anyone who loves to cook, has those days where they don’t feel like cooking anything. Regardless of feeling this way, I cooked an awesome meal! I think it has to be one of my all time favorites now. It was an Asian-style tilapia dish over brown rice pasta. I did not follow a recipe but I will do the best I can to accurately give you the right measurements.

Serving-1

Ingredients:

1 tilapia

2 ½ tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp minced garlic

2 tbsp sesame seeds

½ small lemon

½ tbsp. green onion

1 serving brown rice pasta

*Optional sea salt for taste

First, set your oven on broil.  Boil 1 serving of brown rice pasta.  In a medium sauce pan on medium heat, you’re going to sauté 1 tbsp sesame oil, ½ tsp minced garlic, squeezed lemon juice, and ½ tbsp. green onion, all for just a couple minutes. Place the saucepan to the side so it stops cooking.

Then you’re going to add the tilapia in the saucepan and let it marinate for a couple minutes on each side.

Place the tilapia on a cookie sheet and sprinkle sesame seeds on top. Let it bake for 10 minutes.

Place the cooked brown rice pasta in a medium saucepan along with 1 ½ tbsp. sesame oil, ½ tsp minced garlic, and 1 tbsp sesame seeds. Stir for a couple minutes and then place the pasta in a dish.

After the fish is done cooking, place it on top of the pasta and garnish with fresh basil or parsley.

I’m excited to share a fitness post with you all soon, so be watching for it!!

Leave a Reply

