Screaming Muscles

 

Screaming Muscles

I woke up this morning in so much pain in my quads and gluts. I just lied in bed for a good 20 minutes before I decided to slowly pull myself out of my bed. My plan for today was to get to the gym around 9am and do an upper body workout, but because of the shape I was in this morning, I decided to take a rest day! I got the approval from my trainer to take the day off, and he advised that I get some protein in me. My muscles are torn, so feeding them protein is the perfect fuel for growth.

My workout yesterday morning was to focus on legs and gluts. Abs were thrown in there a tiny bit. I started my workout by doing 10 minutes of cardio on the step climber just to get my heart rate going. I also concluded my workout with 10 minutes on the step climber to cool down. My workout is posted below:

LEGS:
-Weighted walking lunges
-Single leg split squats
-10 burpees
-20 second mountain climbers
-10 jump squats

ABS:
-3 compound sets of crunches and reverse crunches

Yesterday afternoon I was craving a good spaghetti dish. I haven’t had one of those since I started eating clean so I was very determined to whip something up! I used brown rice spaghetti and made homemade tomato sauce.

Ingredients:
2 Servings of Brown Rice Pasta
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
½ sweet onion
3 garlic cloves-minced
1 cup diced tomatoes
¼ cup nutritional yeast
1 tsp dried oregano
¾ cup fresh basil-chopped
¼ tsp red pepper flakes

Boil the brown rice pasta. In a large skillet, sauté the onion and minced garlic in extra virgin olive oil long enough for the onions to soften. Stir in the diced tomatoes for about 10 minutes. (Next time I make this I’ll throw in mushrooms along with the diced tomatoes.) Mix in the thyme, dried oregano, basil, red pepper flakes, and nutritional yeast.

I’m happy to say this awesome dish satisfied my craving, and it definitely made a home in my recipe book!

Leave a Reply

