Baked Avocado

Baked Avocado

I have become an avocado lover. What’s crazy is that I tried an avocado for the first time only a month ago when I was at my brother and sister-in-law’s place in Michigan. Avocados always freaked me out before. Maybe it was the color. But after that first bite, I was hooked! Got to thank my sister-in-law Laura for that ๐Ÿ™‚

Avocados are loaded with fiber and are rich in vitamins B, E, and K. The calories mostly come from fat, but it’s an essential fat that is so incredibly good for you.

So, try it. I dare you.

Ingredients for the Bread Crumb Mixture
1/4 cup Panko bread crumbs
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
1 tbsp basil, chopped
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup roasted garlic tomato salsa
*optional* sea salt and pepper

Ingredients for the Roasted Garlic Tomato Salsa
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp minced garlic
10 cherry tomatoes, chopped
1 tbsp basil

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine the ingredients for the bread crumb mixture.

In another small bowl, mix the basil and cherry tomatoes.

Roast garlic in olive oil over the stove for a couple minutes until evenly browned.

Add the roasted garlic with the cherry tomatoes and basil.

Cut the avocado in half and remove pit. Add the salsa on top of the two avocado halves.

Next, top the salsa and avocado with the bread crumb mixture.

Place on a small baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes.

Bon Appรฉtit!

8 thoughts on “Baked Avocado

  1. Gosh this looks so good!!I love avocado! !! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am totally addicted to it! ๐Ÿ™‚ and love finding new recipes!

    • They usually carry them where they carry oils or regular bread crumbs. That’s where they sell them at Wegmans. They also sell whole wheat Pankco bread crumbs in Nature’s Market Place in Wegmans. I’m excited to try that out!

  2. So proud of you, Jenna! I’ve been on the hunt for a good stuffed peppers recipe…I have some yellow peppers that need to be used ๐Ÿ™‚ Got anything up your sleeve for that? I’m assuming it would be similar to this recipe in a lot of ways! Keep up the great work, lady!

Leave a Reply

