Roasted Vegetable Egg White Omelette

Roasted Vegetable Egg White Omelette

School has officially set in for me. I’m a full time student and a part time employee who has a VERY busy schedule. That is a huge reason why I haven’t been blogging as much as I would like. This year I will complete my degree in Sociology. Do I know what I want to do with that? No. Until recently I could not decide a subject in which I wanted to major. A year ago, I was interested in sociology so I declared that as my major. After I get this degree, I plan to study nutrition/dietetics. Surprise surprise!

So anyway, because I’m so busy, I’m going to try to post something on the blog twice a week. I have to keep my priorities straight, so first and foremost it’s Jesus, then school, work, and then blog/facebook page. Friends and family fit in there somewhere ;). Please keep up with me though!

But enough about that. Today’s post is really about this AMAZING roasted vegetable, egg white omelette. I grabbed the recipe for the roasted vegetables from Wegmans. *shout out to my favorite food store, Wegmans!!* I’ve also eaten the roasted vegetables by themselves or with whole wheat penne pasta. You can mix up this meal a ton of ways.

Ingredients for the Roasted Vegetables

1 medium eggplant *diced*
1 medium sweet green pepper *diced*
1 medium sweet red pepper *diced*
1 medium yellow cooking onion *peeled and diced*
1 tbsp peeled garlic *chopped*
1 medium zucchini *diced*
1 large yellow squash *diced*
1 pkg (8 oz) sliced baby bella mushrooms
5 tbsp basting oil
5 tbsp pure olive oil
(Optional: Sea salt and pepper)

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees

Toss eggplant, green pepper, red pepper, onion, garlic, zucchini, yellow squash, and mushrooms with basting oil and olive oil in a large bowl.
Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Spread vegetables in a single layer. Roast for about 30 minutes so that it’s softened and lightly browned.

Serving size is 8
That may be a lot, but leftovers are just as good! And believe me, you’re going to want leftovers. You can easily make another omelette, toss them in a salad, add pasta or quinoa or just snack on them!

To make 1 serving of the egg white omelette, put about 3/4 cup of egg white in a sauté pan, cook it for a couple minutes, then add the roasted vegetables. As soon as it’s evenly browned on both sides, transfer to a plate and garnish with fresh herbs if desired.

Leave a Reply

